Community Volunteer Awards

Please join us to celebrate the volunteers, nonprofits, and businesses who are making Dane County the best place to live for all! The Community Volunteer Awards recognize our volunteers and their critical work that is impacting Dane County. Together in hope, we are transforming our community one hour at a time. Congratulations to the 2018 Community Volunteer Award nominees!

Community Volunteer Awards
Wednesday, May 2, 11:00 am – 1:15 pm
The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor’s Club, 1 West Dayton St, Madison, WI  MAP

Ticket cost: $15 (nominees receive a complimentary ticket)
Please purchase tickets online here by April 20. If your plans change and you are no longer are able to attend, a full refund is available until 5:00 pm on Friday, April 27. After that time, we will not be able to issue refunds.

Click here to purchase your tickets for the 2018 Community Volunteer Awards luncheon!

New this year! We will have open seating for the Community Volunteer Awards luncheon, so a sponsored table is the best way to ensure a table near the front for your group! Please contact Stefanie Herrick at to sponsor a table of 8 for $500 and learn more about sponsorship benefits.

This year’s menu will feature a Santa Fe Chicken Salad with chopped romaine, grilled chicken, corn and black bean relish, pico de gallo, queso fresco, and avocado crema. (Can be modified to be vegetarian, vegan, or dairy-free.)

Keynote Speaker

Jillana Peterson is a Wisconsin native and UW-Madison alumna who spent several years at the Division of Information Technology before moving to Bay Area software company, Zendesk, in February 2013. Since then, the Madison office grew from 5 to 300, and Zendesk went public and launched the Neighbor Foundation. Jill supported, implemented and consulted on their software before joining the Corporate Social Responsibility team to manage local Foundation grants and volunteer opportunities. She now focuses on social entrepreneurs and startup nonprofits, along with managing nonprofit Zendesk accounts around the globe, empowering businesses and organizations to use technology to improve their communities.


Thank you to our presenting sponsor!



Thank you to our supporting sponsor!




Thank you to our sponsors!

Media Sponsors: WKOW TV and WORT 89.9 FM Community Radio
Table Sponsors: Bluetree Network, BMO Harris Bank, Jim’s Painting, LLC, Old National Bank, Reynolds Transfer & Storage, Springs Window Fashions, TASC, Uno Pizzeria & Grill, Urban Land Interests, Zendesk, and Zimbrick, Inc.
Award Sponsors: Business Volunteer Network, Dane County Administrators of Volunteer Services, and the Irwin A. and Robert D. Goodman Fund in the United Way of Dane County Foundation
In-Kind Sponsors: Ascentives, Inc., Celebrations Entertainment, Faith Dey, Goodman’s Jewelers, Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor’s Club, and Total Awards & Promotions, Inc.


The Community Volunteer Awards is an annual event dedicated to thanking volunteers in Dane County. Our community’s volunteers achieve what some have called impossible. They provide countless hours of support so that our community is safer and stronger each day. Volunteers serve many roles and each creates a long-lasting impact in Dane County. Although they do not ask for anything in return, we are honored to take this opportunity to say “Thank You.” Learn more about the Community Volunteer Awards by clicking here.

The deadline for 2018 nominations has passed. Please contact Danielle Pauk at if you have any questions.

Past Community Volunteer Awards Recipients

2017 Community Volunteer Awards Recap

Host Nolan Brown, Co-Chair  of the United Way Community Engagement Capacity Building Team, and Amber Noggle and Greg Jeschke, WKOW Channel 27, celebrated the impact that dedicated, vibrant volunteers have on our community. More than 700 Dane County community members attend this warm and unique event, held over lunch on May 2, 2017.

177 nominees were recognized for their volunteer outstanding efforts. Special recognition went to eight individuals and three volunteer groups for their volunteerism. The 2017 award recipients were Madison College Volunteer Center, Melanie Schmidt, Robert Rahn, Jan Somerfeld, Madison Dental Initiative, Bluetree Network, Inc., Freddie Lopez-Daniel, Jeanne Moren, Sue Humphrey, Dawn Crim, and Danielle Wendricks. Learn more about each of the 2017 United Way Community Volunteer Awards recipients.

More on Community Volunteer Awards