Madison, WI – On Wednesday, February 21st United Way of Dane County will appoint eight new board members to its 2018-2019 Board of Directors. Those new members were inducted at our February 21st Annual Meeting. The Board is comprised of community leaders who guide United Way in changing lives in the critical areas of Education, Income and Health – the building blocks of a stable life.

“Our board of directors is comprised of influential leaders who push United Way to innovate, connect the dots, and change more lives together,” said Renee Moe, President and CEO of Dane County. “As our closest allies and toughest graders, they hold us accountable to the highest standards, making sure our work reflects the aspirations and expectations of our community.”

Together, with our board and over 1,000 other volunteers, United Way of Dane County fights for the education, financial stability and health of everyone in Dane County. You can watch an inspiring video explaining why we fight here.

United Way would like to thank these retiring Board members for their service:

  • Marcia Anderson, US Bankruptcy Court in Western WI
  • Kevin Gundlach, South Central Federation of Labor
  • Pat Kampling, Alliant Energy
  • Rich Lynch, Findorff
  • Deidre Morgan, Department of Corrections
  • Anne Ross, Foley & Lardner, LLP
  • Robert Trunzo, CUNA Mutual Group

2018-2019 United Way of Dane County Board of Directors

*Mike Hamerlik, Chair
WPS Health Solutions
*Fritz Grutzner, Vice Chair
Brandgarten, Inc.
*Dr. Jack Daniels III, Secretary
Madison College
*Greg Dombrowski, Treasurer
Johnson Bank, Madison
Tim Bartholow, M.D.
WEA Trust
*Ryan E. Behling
Merrill Lynch
Jacquelyn Boggess
Center for Family Policy & Practice
*Dave Branson
Building & Construction Trades Council of South Central Wisconsin
*Anna Marie Burish
UBS Financial Services
*Corey Chambas
First Business Financial
Bryan Chan
Supranet Communications Inc.
Dr. Jennifer Cheatham
Madison Metropolitan School District
Derrell Connor
Legacy Advisor Network
Kevin Conroy
Exact Sciences Corp.
Dave Florin
Dan Frazier
US Bank
Roberta Gassman
UW-Madison School of Social Work
*Fabiola Hamdan
Dane County Human Services
John Humenik
Capital Newspapers
Mya Johnson
Madison Metropolitan School District
Jeff Keebler
Doug Keillor
Madison Teachers Inc.
Gloria Ladson-Billings
University of Wisconsin-Madison, School of Education
Sabrina Madison
Social Entrepreneur
Michelle (Shelle) Michalak
UW School for Workers/AFT Local 223
Renee Moe
United Way of Dane County
Ramona Natera
State of Wisconsin, Unemployment Insurance Division
Barbara Nichols
Wisconsin Center for Nursing
*Dave Orr
Hooper Corporation
Rajesh Rajaraman
ARB Energy
Susan Riseling
International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators
Katy Sai
Storybridge TV.
*Jack C. Salzwedel
American Family Insurance Group
Jay Sekelsky
Madison Investment Advisors
Samuel Stoiber
Madison West HS
*Karen E. Timberlake
Michael Best Strategies
Jim Wheeler
City of Madison Police Department

Non-Voting Agency Representative:
Ruben L. Anthony, Jr. Ph.D.
Urban League of Greater Madison
Jody Bartnick

New members bolded, Executive Committee members denoted with *

The United Way of Dane County Foundation Board is comprised of lead volunteers who guide the organization in advancing the mission of United Way of Dane County, investing in our community’s Agenda for Change and providing opportunities for individuals to extend their own legacy of effective, local philanthropy.

2018 United Way of Dane County Foundation, Inc. Board of Trustees
New Trustees bolded

Darrell Behnke
Elizabeth Heiner
Mark Koehl
Donald Bernards
Marion F. Brown
James Gallegos
Jennifer Hannon
Michael Hamerlik
Terry Heinrichs
Andrew King
Mario Mendoza
Renee Moe
Marian Quade
Greg Rademacher
Gary Schaefer
Tom Walker
Vice Chair
Ex Officio
Ex Officio
U.S. Bank
Boardman & Clark LLP
Wipfli LLP
Baker Tilly Virchow Krause
Retired, University of Wisconsin Foundation
Alliant Energy
Godfrey & Kahn SC
WPS Health Solutions
Merrill Lynch
King Financial Group
Murphy Desmond SC
United Way of Dane County
Madison Investment Advisors
Buttonwood Partners, Inc.
Associated Bank
Mid-West Family Marketing

Honorary Trustees

Don Anderson
Jeff Levy
Thomas G. Ragatz
John Bolz
Dale Mathwich
Marv Conney
Loren Mortenson


About United Way of Dane County
United Way of Dane County fights for the education, financial stability, and health of everyone in Dane County. Through strategic partnerships and collaborative work, United Way brings the many voices of Dane County together to find common ground, develop a strategic architecture for change, and make measurable progress, while engaging organizations and individuals with the opportunity to give, advocate and volunteer to change lives in Dane County.