United Way of Dane County announced the election of the 2015-2016 Board of Directors during it’s Annual Meeting on February 26, 2015. The board is comprised of community leaders who guide the organization in its efforts to change lives through our community’s Agenda for Change in the areas of Education, Income and Health.

United Way of Dane County’s new board members include: Marcia Anderson, Bankruptcy Clerk, Western District of Wisconsin Bankruptcy Court; Julia Arata-Fratta, Supervisor, Wegner CPAs; Bryan W. Chan, Founder & President, SupraNet Communications, Inc.; John Humenik, President & Publisher, Wisconsin State Journal; Robert N. Trunzo, President & CEO, CUNA Mutual Group. Nick Meriggioli, CEO, Johnsonville Sausage was thanked and acknowledged for his leadership as outgoing 2014 Board Chair. Rich Lynch, Chairman, J.H. Findorff & Sons Inc., was selected to serve as United Way of Dane County’s new Chair of the Board. Additional officers for the Board include Darrell Bazzell, Vice Chancellor for Administration, UW-Madison as Vice Chair and Ryan E. Behling, Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch as Secretary/Treasurer.

“Our 2015 Board of Directors is committed to improving lives by driving strategic impact through our focus areas of Education, Income and Health,” said Leslie Ann Howard, President & CEO, United Way of Dane County. “They will continue to ensure that money raised and volunteer time recruited by United Way is invested wisely in research-backed strategies that provide measurable results to change lives in our community.”

Retiring Board Members include Kevin Heppner, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause; Doug Nelson, BMO Harris Bank; Kim Sponem, Summit Credit Union; Doug Strub, Meridian Group; and Michael Victorson, M3 Insurance Solutions.

The organization also announced its Campaign Cabinet Chair who will lead United Way of Dane County’s 2015 Community Campaign: Dan Rashke, CEO, TASC.

2015-2016 United Way of Dane County Board of Directors

Marcia M. Anderson Clerk of Court United States Bankruptcy Court
Julia Arata-Fratta Supervisor Wegner CPAs
*Darrell Bazzell Supervisor UW-Madison
*Ryan E. Behling Financial Advisor Merrill Lynch
*Anna Burish Associate Director UBS Financial Services
Bryan W. Chan Founder & President Supranet Communications, Inc.
Dr. Jennifer Cheatham Superintendent Madison Metropolitan School District
Dr. Jack Daniels III President Madison College
Greg Dombrowski President Johnson Bank, Madison
Dan Frazier Madison Market President US Bank
Henry Gaylord High School Student & By Youth
For Youth Representative
East Madison High School
Enid Glenn Director- Bureau of Management Services State Department of Workforce
Henry Gaylord High School Student & By Youth
For Youth Representative
East Madison High School
Brenda Gonzalez Community Marketing & Health Equity Manager Group Health Cooperative of South
Central WI
Fritz Grutzner President Brandgarten, Inc.
Kevin Gundlach President South Central Federation of Labor
*Mike Hamerlik President and Chief Executive Officer WPS Health Insurance
*Leslie Ann Howard President & CEO United Way of Dane County
John Humenik President & Publisher Wisconsin State Journal
Patricia Kampling Chair, President & CEO Alliant Energy
Donna Katen-Bahensky Community Leader  
Sharyl Kato Executive Director The Rainbow Project, Inc.
*Gretchen R. Lowe *Michael Morgan AFSCME Retirees Subchapter 52
*Richard Lynch Chairman J.H. Findorff & Sons Inc.
Karen Menéndez Coller Executive Director Centro Hispano, Inc.
*Nick Meriggioli CEO Johnsonville Sausage
*Deirdre A. Morgan Deputy Secretary Wisconsin Department of Corrections
*Michael Morgan Community Leader  
Barbara Nichols Consultant Barbara Nichols Consulting
Rajesh Rajaraman Vice President Christensen Associates
Dan Rashke CEO TASC
Susan Riseling Associate Vice Chancellor/Chief of Police University of Wisconsin Madison Police Department
Anne E. Ross Managing Partner Foley & Lardner, LLP
*Jack Salzwedel Chairman & Chief Executive Officer American Family Insurance Group
*Dave K. Stark President Stark Company Realtors
Tim J. Sullivan Business Representative SMART Local 565
Karen Timberlake Director UW Population Health Institute
Robert N. Trunzo President & CEO CUNA Mutual Group
*Gary Wolter Chairman, President & CEO Madison Gas and Electric Co.

*Member of the Executive Committee
New members bolded

Jay Sekelsky, from Madison Investment Advisors, was elected to serve as United Way of Dane County’s Foundation’s Chair. Other individuals elected to positions include: Vice Chair- Darrell Behnke, U.S. Bank, and Secretary/Treasurer- Mark Koehl, Wipfli LLP. The Foundation Board is comprised of lead volunteers who guide the organization in advancing the mission of United Way of Dane County, investing in our community’s Agenda for Change and providing opportunities for individuals to extend their own legacy of effective, local philanthropy.

2015 United Way of Dane County Foundation, Inc. Board of Trustees

Jay Sekelsky Chair Madison Investment Advisors
Darrell Behnke Vice Chair U.S. Bank
Mark Koehl Secretary/Treasurer Wipfli LLP
Darrell Bazzell Trustee University of Wisconsin-Madison
Holly Cremer Berkenstadt Trustee Community Leader
John Bolz Trustee Community Leader
Barbara Finley Trustee Morgan Stanley
Clayton Frink Trustee The Capital Times
Leslie Ann Howard, Ex Officio Trustee United Way of Dane County
Sherri Kliczak Trustee Retired, National Guardian Life Insurance Co.
Madelyn Leopold Trustee Retired, Boardman & Clark LLP
Rich Lynch, Ex Officio Trustee J.H. Findorff & Son, Inc.
Norma Madsen Trustee Community Leader
Jim Riordan Trustee Retired, WPS Health Insurance
Frederick Schwartz Trustee Sub-Zero Group, Inc.
Noble Wray Trustee Retired, Madison Police Depart.
John Zimdars Trustee The Zimdars Company, Inc.

Honorary Trustees

Don Anderson Marv Conney Jerry Hiegel
Jeff Levy Jean Manchester Dale Mathwich
Loren Mortenson Thomas G. Ragatz

*New Trustees bolded