Nick Meriggioli, Executive Vice President, Kraft Foods, Oscar Mayer/Kraft Foods Group was also elected to serve as United Way of Dane County’s new Chair of the Board.

United Way of Dane County announced the election of the 2014-2015 Board of Directors during its Annual Meeting on March 6, 2014.  The board is comprised of community leaders who guide the organization in its efforts to change lives through our community’s Agenda for Change in the areas of Education, Safety and Health.

United Way of Dane County’s new board members include: Dr. Jack Daniels III, President, Madison College; Henry Gaylord, East High School Student and By Youth For Youth Representative; Donna Katen-Bahensky, President & CEO, UW Hospital & Clinics and Susan Riseling, Associate Vice Chancellor/Chief of Police, University of Wisconsin Madison. Serving as agency representatives on this year’s Board include: Sharyl Kato, Executive Director, The Rainbow Project; and Dora Zúñiga, CEO, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Dane County. Michael Victorson, President & CEO, M3 Insurance was thanked and acknowledged for his leadership as outgoing 2013 Board Chair. Nick Meriggioli, Executive Vice President, Kraft Foods, Oscar Mayer/Kraft Foods Group was also elected to serve as United Way of Dane County’s new Chair of the Board. Additional officers for the Board include Richard Lynch, President, J.H. Findorff & Sons Inc as Vice Chair and Dave Stark, President, Stark Company Realtors as Secretary/Treasurer.

“Our 2014 Board of Directors is committed to improving lives by driving strategic impact through our focus areas of Education, Safety and Health,” said Leslie Ann Howard, President & CEO, United Way of Dane County. “They will continue to ensure that money raised and volunteer time recruited by United Way is invested wisely in research-backed strategies that provide measurable results to change lives in our community.”

Retiring Board Members include Bettsey Barhorst, Former President of Madison College; Lucía Nuñez, Director, Department of Civil Rights; Karlyn Russell, Community Youth Leader; Dr. Craig Samitt, President, Health Care Partners and Judge Maryann Sumi, Dane County Circuit Court Wisconsin Circuit Court.

The organization also announced its Campaign Cabinet who will lead United Way of Dane County’s 2014 Community Campaign: Chair- Jack C.  Salzwedel, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, American Family Insurance Group; Vice Chair- Dan Rashke, CEO, TASC; Vice Chair- Donna Katen-Bahensky, President & CEO, UW Hospital & Clinics.

 2014-2015 United Way of Dane County Board of Directors

*Darrell Bazzell Vice Chancellor for Administration UW-Madison
Ryan E. Behling Financial Advisor Merrill Lynch
Anna Burish Associate Director UBS Financial Services
Dr. Jennifer Cheatham Superintendent Madison Metropolitan School District
Dr. Tim Culver District Administrator Sun Prairie Area School District
Dr. Jack Daniels III President Madison College
Greg Dombrowski President Johnson Bank, Madison
Dan Frazier Madison Market President US Bank
Henry Gaylord High School Student & By Youth For Youth Representative East Madison High School
Enid Glenn Director- Bureau of Management Services State Department of Workforce Development/DVR
Brenda Gonzalez Community Marketing & Health Equity Manager Group Health Cooperative of South Central WI
Fritz Grutzner President Brandgarten, Inc.
Kevin Gundlach President South Central Federation of Labor
*Michael Hamerlik President and Chief Executive Officer WPS Health Insurance
Kevin Heppner Regional Managing Partner Baker Tilly Virchow Krause
*Leslie Ann Howard President & CEO United Way of Dane County
Patricia Kampling Chairman, President & CEO Alliant Energy
Donna Katen-Bahensky President & CEO UW Hospitals & Clinics
Sharyl Kato Executive Director The Rainbow Project, Inc.
*Gretchen R. Lowe Community Leader AFSCME Retirees Subchapter 52
*Richard Lynch President J.H. Findorff & Sons Inc.
*Nick Meriggioli Executive Vice President, Kraft Foods Oscar Mayer/Kraft Foods Group
*Deirdre A. Morgan Deputy Secretary Wisconsin Department of Corrections
*Michael Morgan Community Leader
Douglas Nelson Regional President BMO Harris Bank
Rajesh Rajaraman Vice President Christensen Associates
*Dan Rashke CEO TASC
Susan Riseling Associate Vice Chancellor/Chief of Police University of Wisconsin Madison Police Department
Anne E. Ross Managing Partner Foley & Lardner, LLP
Sam Rovit EVP and President Oscar Mayer/Kraft Foods
*Jack Salzwedel Chairman & Chief Executive Officer American Family Insurance Group
Kim Sponem CEO/President Summit Credit Union
*Dave K. Stark President Stark Company Realtors
Doug Strub CEO Meridian Group
Tim Sullivan Business Representative SMART Local 565
Karen Timberlake Director UW Population Health Institute
*Michael E. Victorson President & CEO M3 Insurance
*Gary Wolter Chairman, President & CEO Madison Gas and Electric Co.
Dora Zúñiga CEO Big Brothers Big Sisters of Dane County

*Member of the Executive Committee; new members bolded

About Our Community’s Agenda for Change


  • Students succeed academically and graduate from high school, regardless of race.
  • Children are cared for and have fun as they become prepared for school.


  • There is a decrease in family homelessness.
  • There is a reduction in violence toward individuals and families.


  • People’s health issues are identified and treated early.
  • Seniors and people with disabilities are able to stay in their homes.

United Way engages our community mobilizes volunteers and strengthens local nonprofits to achieve measurable results and change lives.

About United Way of Dane County

United Way of Dane County is addressing the underlying causes of community issues through our community’s Agenda for Change—seven goals focused on three priority areas of Education, Safety and Health that our community identified as most critical to changing lives and strengthening Dane County. Through strategic partnerships and collaborative work, we are achieving measurable results toward making our community better educated, safer, and healthier. United Way provides organizations and individuals the opportunity to give, advocate, and volunteer to change the human condition in Dane County.